CIFEJ elects new board and president

On November 28, a new board committee was elected in an online voting by 55 members of CIFEJ, international interest group for children’s film. Congratulations to newly elected president Jitendra Mishra and the board members, among them are some well-known ECFA personalities.


CIFEJ President Jitendra Mishra: “I am contented to take new responsibilities as President of this incredible global organization – CIFEJ – that has been creating equal opportunities for young people to express themselves, at the same time promoting quality content for them globally. The mission & vision of our own organization SIFFCY / Smile Foundation complement the main goal of CIFEJ; it’s a great opportunity to serve the global children & youth community more through this unique platform.

Is it an extra challenge to take over the presidency under the current global circumstances? Mishra: “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade – we utilize this new-normal situation as an opportunity and reach out to young audiences virtually. I am optimistic and hopeful, we have already started implementing several related practices at CIFEJ. Since ECFA has also been championing and working for the common cause, I am very positive that we shall explore cooperation opportunities between both our organizations and raise awareness about the power of quality children’s content together.”

Just like freshly elected board members Michael Harbauer (Schlingel), Josep Arbiol (MICE) and Jitendra Mishra (Festival director of SIFFCY – A Smile foundation initiative, India) have been long-term key figures in ECFA. We hope their position in the CIFEJ Board of Directors will bring both organisations closer together, working towards common goals. Also elected in the CIFEJ Board of Directors were Vassilis C. Karamitsanis (Greece), Mahgan Farhang (Iran), Christine L. Mendoza (USA), Madhu Chopra (India) and Selven Naidu (Mauritius). We wish them fruitful years of good government and success.